Scoliosis Research Society unveils its first female president

Serena Hu

The Scoliosis Research Society (SRS), which was founded in 1966, has appointed its first ever female president.

Serena Hu, professor of orthopaedic surgery at Stanford University (Stanford, USA) accepted her role as president of the SRS at the society’s 57th annual meeting (14–17 September 2022; Stockholm, Sweden), where she took over from previous incumbent, Christopher Shaffrey.

Following the announcement, Hu said: “I am very honoured and humbled to become the 53rd president of the SRS. I remember as a resident seeing how valued this society has been to its members and the patients we serve, and how important it was to me to contribute in ways so that I might be selected to be a member.

“It is incredible how much the SRS has grown and expanded since that time, becoming the internationally recognised source for education and research for spine deformity care.”

To read the new president’s message in full, visit:

Marinus de Kleuver of Radboud University Medical Centre (Nijmegen, The Netherlands) becomes the new president-elect in Hu’s place.

The remaining SRS board members are as follows:

  • Vice president: Laurel Blakemore
  • Treasurer: David Skaggs
  • Secretary: Ferran Pellise
  • Past president I: Christopher Shaffrey
  • Past president II: Muharrem Yazici
  • Communication council chair: Ron El-Hawary
  • Research Council Chair: Douglas Burton
  • Education Council Chair: Munish Gupta
  • Director at large: Evalina Burger
  • Director at large: Khaled Kebaish
  • Director at large: Michael Kelly
  • Director at large: Lindsay Andras
  • Director at large: Firoz Miyanji
  • Director at large: Kota Watanabe

The SRS is a non-profit, professional organisation, made up of physicians and allied health personnel.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here