The Spine Journal and NASS announce 2016 “Outstanding Paper” awards


The Spine Journal and the North American Spine Society (NASS) have announced three winners of the 2016 Outstanding Paper Awards at NASS’ 31st Annual Meeting.

These awards recognise excellence in unpublished research in spine care. Winning manuscripts receive a US$10,000 prize and will be published in an early 2017 issue of The Spine Journal.

Winning authors were given the opportunity to present their work from the annual meetings’ main podium and take questions following the awards presentations.

The winners were:

Outstanding paper – medical/interventional science:

Modifiable Risk Factors for Chronic Back Pain: Insights Using the Co-Twin Control Design

By Pradeep Suri, Edward J. Boyko, Nicholas L Smith, Jeffrey G Jarvik, Frances M Williams, Gail P. Jarvik, Jack Goldberg.

Outstanding paper – value in spine care:

“Surgery for Degenerative Cervical Myelopathy: A Patient-Centered Quality of Life and Health Economic Evaluation”

By Christopher D Witiw, Lindsay A Tetreault, Fabrice Smieliauskas, Branko Kopjar, Eric Massicotte, Michael G. Fehlings.

Runner-up – medical/interventional science:

“Objective Measurement of Free-Living Physical Activity (Performance) in Lumbar Spinal Stenosis: Are Physical Activity Guidelines Being Met?”

By Justin Norden, Christy Tomkins-Lane, Aman Sinha, Richard Hu, Matthew Smuck.