Frank Phillips named as ISASS president

Frank Phillips

Frank Phillips (Rush University Medical Center, Chicago, USA) was named president of the International Society for the Advancement of Spine Surgery (ISASS) during the society’s 2020 annual meeting (ISASS20; 26–28 February, Puerto Rico, USA).

Phillips is the director of the section of minimally invasive spine surgery at Rush University Medical Center and is a pioneer in minimally invasive and motion-sparing techniques for spinal procedures.

“I look forward to reinforcing ISASS’s position as the premier international spine surgeon society focused on innovative technologies to better patient care,” he said. “We will continue to expand our international outreach, engage young surgeons and ensure that we provide value for our members and all stake holders in spinal care.”

Phillips earned his medical degree at the University of Witwatersand (Johannesburg, South Africa) and completed his residency in orthopaedic surgery at the University of Chicago Medical Center (Chicago, USA). He did his spine fellowship at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine (Cleveland, USA).

The presidential term will last for the next year. In addition, ISASS named three new Board members after a member vote to update its Bylaws expanded the ISASS Board. Also named to the Board are: Morgan Lorio (Nashville, USA), chairman of ISASS’ Coding & Reimbursement Task Force; Ali Araghi (Sun City West, USA), chairman of ISASS’ Membership Committee and Matthew Scott-Young (Gold Coast, Australia). The other remaining board members include Jack Zigler (Plano, USA), ISASS immediate past president; Domagoj Coric (Charlotte, USA), treasurer; Massimo Balsano (Santorso, Italy); Hulin Yang (Suzhou, China); Michael Wang (Miami, USA).

ISASS was founded in 2001 and blends the fields of neurosurgery and orthopaedic spine surgery, enjoying active participation by some of the best scientists in the world.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here